Skip to content

The Sounds of Spring

May 26, 2013

Bee In Bleeding HeartsA sunny Sunday afternoon in the spring used to mean I could sit outside in my garden swing with a good book in one hand and a cold glass of lemonade in the other while I listened to the sounds of bees buzzing among the flowers, birds calling from the treetops, and squirrels and chipmunks foraging in the gardens.

Leaf BlowerUnfortunately, those sounds are drowned out most Sundays lately by the howl of power lawn mowers and leaf blowers, the whine of whipper-snippers and hedge trimmers, and the unbearable racket of heavy equipment rented by ‘weekend warriors’ (not to mention a half dozen barking dogs and the unmistakable sound produced by three or more cars with modified exhaust systems in the driveway across the street).

It’s gotten so I have to come inside and close the doors and windows just to get some peace and quiet here on … the other side of 55.

 

Stay Quiet Quote

4 Comments
  1. June 2, 2013 4:13 pm

    I am very fortunate that, though I live in an old urban neighborhood, weekend days on my block are deafeningly quiet. For some reason, the kids disappear, and everyone’s grass has been cut (except for one fellow). I get to sit on my porch swing, listen to the birds chirp, and give very dirty looks to the hog of a squirrel that thinks I’m going to feed it. It’s just about the perfect place to live. 🙂

    • June 2, 2013 4:38 pm

      Does your squirrel ‘swear’ at you when you don’t feed it? Mine (many of them) do! They seem to think I should be providing an all-you-can-eat buffet (of stale bread and peanuts, which I occasionally toss out on cold winter days).

  2. May 27, 2013 12:14 pm

    I enjoy the sound of a lawnmower and the smell of new cut grass. Most of our neighbors have their lawns done in the mornings, so afternoons in the backyard are very quiet. Also, many of our neighbors have pools in their backyard and little else so there is not gardening sounds coming from those yards.

    • May 27, 2013 12:32 pm

      We have a VERY small lawn and a push mower; I do love the smell of fresh cut grass, tho. I don’t mind the odd noise or two but lately it seems everyone (in my neighbourhood) leaves all their noisy chores for Sundays!

Comments are closed.

