Skip to content

Do Good, Feel Good

December 30, 2012

From 2012 to 2013Well, it’s that time of year again – a couple of days before the old year ends and the new one begins.  It’s generally a time of reflection – a time to ask (as John Lennon so poignantly did) “And what have you done?” as well as to make a ‘start fresh’ and plans and promises for the next twelve months.

Mom and Me, 1954

Mom and Me, 1954

I’ve never been one to make a lengthy list of New Year’s Resolutions (or ‘Revolutions’ as my youngest son would say) but I generally go into each new year with the understanding that I should at least TRY to ‘do better’ than I did the previous year.  2012 wasn’t the greatest of years for me – my mother passed away in January; my cat (Sally) died a month later; I spent most of the spring and early summer locked in a frustrating and seemingly endless battle with City engineers over the storm water runoff (caused by a recent road ‘resurfacing’) that flooded my driveway, garden and backyard; I ‘broke up’ with my longtime contractor; and in attempting to reconcile with my oldest sister, I ended up alienating several other members of my family (who, rumor has it, thought I should have let her continue spreading nasty lies about me rather than trying to clear the air – and, yeah, I should have known better – you can’t change sociopathic behaviour by telling the truth and using logic).

Finished FireplaceOn the ‘up’ side, I had quite a few beach and hammock days during the summer (July and August were hot, hot, hot) during which I read a good number of the books in my library; I FINALLY got my front hall renovated, the ‘feature wall’ at the top of the stairs and the brick around the living room fireplace painted, and a mantle installed above it; I adopted two wonderful kittens (Claire and Sylvia) in November; and I managed to drop 10 pounds in the last 10 weeks of the year.

I suppose, in hindsight, the second half of the year ‘almost’ made up for the first half and I DID get some of the things I’d hope to accomplish, accomplished. Still, there is always room for improvement. So for 2013, I’ve decided to adopt a new ‘personal mission statement’ (motto, slogan, maxim, adage, mantra – whatever you want to call it): “Do Good, Feel Good”.  These four little words will represent my philosophy for living in the upcoming year because they can apply to pretty much every aspect of my life.

Do Good CycleFor example, if I think ‘Do Good, Feel Good’ when I’m planning my grocery shopping and menu planning, I’ll buy healthier foods and prepare healthier meals.  By repeating ‘Do Good, Feel Good’ when I pull on my track pants each morning, I can persuade myself to push a little harder or go a little longer (or try something new) while exercising.  ‘Do Good, Feel Good’ can help with my writing projects too (the more I write, the better I feel – I just have to keep reminding myself of that fact).  When I ‘Do Good’ for others (family, friends, strangers), it always makes me ‘Feel Good’ – so by repeating my ‘mantra’, I’ll remember to express my appreciation to others more often, give a little more to those in need, and perform a few additional ‘random acts of kindness’ each month.  And if I ‘Do Good’ for myself (no negative self-talk, focus on the positive, be grateful EVERY DAY for my health, my husband, my home, my kids, my cats), I’ll ‘Feel Good’ through and through. And when I ‘Feel Good’, I’m much more likely to ‘Do Good’, so the cycle repeats back on itself.  It’s ‘win win’ all the way around!

Thirteen has always been one of my lucky numbers; I’m confident that if I ‘Do Good, Feel Good’, 2013 can be one of the best years yet. I wish the same for you and yours. Best wishes for the New Year from … the other side of 55.

Do Good Quote

13 Comments
  1. January 1, 2013 6:13 pm

    I hope the number 13 continues to be lucky for you.
    Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. December 31, 2012 6:45 am

    I love the simplicity of Do Good, Feel Good and will adopt a similar motto I think! So enjoy your posts, thank you for them and may 2013 be a year full of feeling great for you !

    • December 31, 2012 9:24 am

      Please let me know what you choose as your ‘motto’. Sometimes ‘simple’ is ‘simply the best’. Happy New Year.

      Margo

  3. December 30, 2012 4:32 pm

    Loving the Do Good/Feel Good idea. What a great way to approach life in a “lucky” year.

    • December 31, 2012 9:24 am

      Thanks. I’m thinking of having it tatooed on my forehead so I won’t forget! Have a great 2013.

      Margo

  4. December 30, 2012 2:46 pm

    Wishing you the best in the New Year. I like the idea of a mantra/motto for the year, I’m going to spend some time thinking about it for myself.

    • December 31, 2012 9:24 am

      Let me know what you choose for your ‘words of wisdom’ in 2013. All the best.

      Margo

      • December 31, 2012 12:02 pm

        Veritate et virtute, with truth and courage –closest I can find without copying the entirety of The Places You’ll Go, by Dr Seuss 😉

      • December 31, 2012 12:23 pm

        Oooo, I LOVE that book; I used to read parts of it to my graduating (College) students!

        Margo

      • December 31, 2012 12:31 pm

        🙂

  5. Cathy permalink
    December 30, 2012 2:34 pm

    That’s a lovely idea. Maybe I’ll adopt it too. Have a Happy New Year, Margo. All the best. And let’s get going with the writing!
    Cathy

    • December 31, 2012 9:25 am

      I love the idea of spreading my mantra around so others can benefit too. Here’s to a productive 2013 for both of us.

      Margo

Comments are closed.

