Skip to content

Thanksgiving 2012

October 7, 2012

Canada ThanksgivingI can’t believe that it’s Thanksgiving weekend already (in Canada we celebrate Thanksgiving on the second Monday in October).  The days are certainly shorter, the air is much cooler, and the leaves are changing colour, but I’d been hanging on to the hope that Mother Nature might bestow just one more warm weekend on us. Alas, it appears she’s already headed south for the winter and left behind plummeting temperatures and frost warnings (as well as some unwelcome drizzle). Fall has definitely arrived.

Still, there are lots of things to be thankful for (even if the weather outside right now isn’t one of them).  And so, in the spirit of the Thanksgiving holiday, I thought I’d share a few of the things I am particularly thankful for right now (while trying not to duplicate the ones I listed back in 2010, although all of those things still apply, too):

  • Back PainMy chiropractor and my massage therapist, without whom I might not have gotten through the last three weeks.  I decided to undertake a home decorating project with my ‘usual’ enthusiasm and ended up twisting my back and suffering spasms and excruciating pain for several days. Mercifully, I’m on the road to recovery now, due to the ministrations of these two wonderful women, an ice pack, some muscle relaxants and painkillers, and my husband’s infinite patience with a very impatient patient (I suppose those are a few more things I’m thankful for!)
  • PaintPaint with primer built in. It saves that extra step of priming before painting (and the additional clean up that goes along with it).  Paint that cleans up with water is a godsend, too (compared to oil-based stain, which requires a good deal more work all around). I should add here, I suppose, that I’m extremely thankful to have a husband who is willing to paint all the high bits for me (since I’m not supposed to reach above my head for another week or so, and the wall that needed painting is fifteen feet high).
  • Photo AlbumsPhoto albums.  As part of the above-mentioned home decorating project, I had to empty out a cabinet in my living room so it could be moved (allowing the wall behind it to be painted).  It just so happens that it is the cabinet that holds the dozen or so family photo albums, so I spent some time looking through them as I removed them.  I don’t know about you, but I find I simply do not look at the (hundreds of) digital photos that I’ve taken in the past few years (and have stored – in a sort of organized fashion, but not really – on my computer), but I regularly – and with great delight and not a little nostalgia – go through the photo albums.  We often get one or another out when the boys come for dinner, and their girlfriends love looking at pictures of the boys when they were little (and oh-so-cute).  I also like looking back over my own photographic history (god, was I ever that young??!?!?!?)  Unfortunately, I’m not sure the ‘next generation’ – with their massive collections of digital photos and videos – is going to have that same experience (really, who wants to sit in front of a computer /TV/digital photo frame and watch hundreds of images flash by every X seconds – often without any captions or explanations ? It reminds me of those people who used to take slides of everything and then force you to sit through interminable evenings of vacation and family slide shows! YUCK!)  Digital photos might be easier to take – and have better ‘resolution’ – but looking at them just isn’t the same as flipping through an old-fashioned photo album.
  • Yogurt CupDessert-flavoured yogurt.  I’ve never been a big fan of yogurt – don’t ask me why, but I could never quite get a spoonful of it past my lips.  Still, I know it’s good for me, so when I found a brand that comes in flavours like ‘crème caramel’, ‘raspberry-chocolate’, ‘café latte’, and ‘strawberry parfait’, I was delighted. I now think of yogurt as my ‘good-for-you’ lunchtime treat.
  • Debit CardDebit cards.  I don’t have to find an ATM to get cash out of the bank (the closest one attached to my bank is in the mall, where parking is a nightmare; the next nearest one is outside the back of the bank next to what can only be described as a ‘back alley’), I can easily track where my money is going (surprise, surprise), and it’s safer all around than carrying cash (although I do try to keep enough bills on hand to pay for restaurant meals and small purchases).
  • WineWine. White, or rosé, not red (it gives me a headache).  I indulge only on weekends, before dinner, and limit myself to two glasses, but I am 100% in agreement with the saying on a tee-shirt I bought in Niagara-on-the-Lake a few years ago: Wine gets better with age – the older I get, the more I like it.

I’m also extremely thankful that I’ve had another great year on … the other side of 55.

Thanksgiving Prayer

7 Comments
  1. October 7, 2012 8:11 pm

    Hope you are enjoying a nice weekend despite the inclimate weather. Tomorrow is turkey day here–there will be ten of us this year so it will be hectic, but good. I wonder how I manage to get myself into hosting these things all the time? 🙂

    • October 7, 2012 10:33 pm

      We’re having a fairly quiet weekend – both boys are busy with other commitments so our family get-together will be next weekend (fortunately, there will only be 6 of us). Enjoy your Thanksgiving with your family.

      Margo

  2. October 7, 2012 5:13 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks

  1. A Thankful Thanksgiving | Inspired Every Moment
  2. Finding the Light | Dare to live, feel, think and dream
  3. A Thankful Thanksgiving « Inspired Every Moment

Comments are closed.

