Skip to content

The Miracles All Around Us

May 6, 2012

Did anyone get outside last night (Saturday, May 5) to get a look at the ‘Super Moon’?  I had a ‘front row’ (unobstructed) view through the large window above my front door, but I also snuck out onto the deck for a ‘live’ (albeit slightly chilly) look at around ten o’clock. It was pretty awesome (the moon was 16% larger and 30% brighter than any other full moon will be this year – that’s because it was 30,000 km [18,500 miles] closer than its average distance from Earth, and the closest it will be until sometime in 2014).   

This particularly spectacular event got me thinking about the myriad aspects of the natural world that surround us every single day, and how we’re often too ‘busy’ to notice them. Personally, I think that’s a crying shame!

So, as an exercise in appreciating the natural world around me, I took my tea out on the deck this morning and sat to quietly observe what was going on in my little corner of paradise; then I went out and captured some of it on film.  Here’s what I saw, smelled, heard and marvelled at (related photos, numbered according to the list, are included below the text). 

  1. A pair of young squirrels grooming one another, then resting, side-by-side on the top rail of the deck.
  2. The fragrance of early-blooming lilacs and lily-of-the-valley caught on the breeze.
  3. A Phoebe gathering the tips of fallen oak branches (that the squirrels nip off) for her nest.
  4. The delicate pattern formed by fresh moss between the stones on my walkway.
  5. A tiny caterpillar dangling on a nearly invisible thread.
  6. A single trillium (the official flower of the province of Ontario) blooming in my back yard.
  7. The unfurling green leaves of oak and maple and elm trees all around (as seen from my deck).
  8. A flash of red as a cardinal flits through the yard.
  9. The final days of bright yellow forsythia, daffodils, tulips (not to mention dandelions) in yards along the street.
  10. The vibrant pink of a neighbour’s ornamental cherry tree.
  11. The call of the male Cooper’s hawk as he brings food to his mate (they’re nesting several houses to the north this year).
  12. The dainty hanging hearts of my bleeding heart bushes.
  13. Jack in his pulpit.
  14. A chipmunk scurrying through the yard, then raising himself on his hind legs to natter at the neighbour’s cat as he wanders by.
  15. Delicate ferns spiraling upwards from the ground.
  16. The pattern formed by exposed roots in the side yard.
  17. The delicate threads of a spider’s web built between the deck rails.
  18. Raccoon footprints along the muddy edge of the creek.
  19. The design created by ant holes and decay on an old tree stump.
  20. A cacophony of bird song.
  21. The dainty purple and white flowers of the wild violets along my front walk.
  22. The rat-a-tat-tat of a Downey woodpecker hunting for bugs in a nearby pine tree.
  23. A clutch of tiny white wildflowers nestled against a tree in the back yard.
  24. Several pairs of butterflies (Red Admirals and others) soaring, swirling, gliding, touching one another over and over and over again.
  25. The play of shadows along side of the shed and the fence.

I’m not a professional photographer (or quite as adept as Margie and her family [Antelope Street Photographers] over at A Lighter Shade of Grey) but I’m fairly pleased with what my little digital camera captured (I did discover that it’s impossible to photograph the thin filaments of a spider’s web, or catch butterflies as they soar and swoop and dart through the air). Maybe nature photography is something else I can explore now that I’ve reached … the other side of 55.

Purple Lilac

Purple Lilac

Lily of the Valley

Lily of the Valley

A Cross of Moss

A Cross of Moss

A Single Trillium

A Single Trillium

Trees Unfurling Their Leaves

Trees Unfurling Their Leaves

Fading Forsythia

Fading Forsythia

Ornamental Cherry

Ornamental Cherry

Bleeding Hearts

Bleeding Hearts

Ferns

Ferns

Exposed Roots

Exposed Roots

Raccoon Footprints in the Mud

Raccoon Footprints in the Mud

Rotting Stump

Rotting Stump

Purple and White Wild Violets

Purple and White Wild Violets

Wildflowers

Wildflowers

Play of Shadows on the Shed and Fence

Play of Shadows on the Shed and Fence

4 Comments
  1. May 7, 2012 10:50 am

    Just lovely, we are having a most vibrant spring in London too, despite the constant rain and lack of sunshine – birds, squirrels and fat, healthy foxes everywhere!

    • May 7, 2012 12:06 pm

      I haven’t seen a fox around here in quite a few years, although there have been coyotes spotted in the area.

      Margo

  2. May 6, 2012 10:02 pm

    Your garden is WAY ahead of mine!!! But your plants are gorgeous….and I anxiously await mine to follow suite! Thanks for sharing…

    • May 7, 2012 9:17 am

      The early spring has pushed everything ahead 2 – 3 weeks. It’s beautiful but I feel like I haven’t done enough ‘prep’ work yet (and its only the first weekend in May!)

      Margo

Comments are closed.

