Skip to content

Woo Hoo – Spring is Here!

March 11, 2012

Today is the 11th of March.  The sun is shining and my thermometer tells me it’s 17 degrees (C; 63 F) at 2:30 in the afternoon.  Considering yesterday’s temp at about the same time of day was -2 (C; 28 F), that’s quite a jump (NOTE: the ‘average daily high’ for this time of year in this region of southern Ontario is 3 C [37 F]; however, in 1999 the temp was -18 C [-4 F], and a year later it was 25 C [77 F] – so I suppose it’s fair to say that the temperature ‘fluctuates widely’ at this time of year in this part of the country).

Being the eternal optimist that I am, I’m going to make a prediction that this upward trend will continue, and that spring is officially here (The Weather Network is backing me up – their web site suggests the ‘warming trend’ will last at least until the end of the month).  I don’t have the kind of sophisticated equipment or legions of trained meteorologists that they do, so I’m basing my prognostication on the following:

  • Robinfour out of five of the ‘prediction’ groundhogs didn’t see their shadows on February 2 – indicating an early spring (and who am I to argue with professionally trained groundhogs?!?!?)
  • last Sunday (March 4) I saw the first robin of spring
  • there are lots of little birds (nuthatches, chickadees, downy woodpeckers) bopping up and down the trees in my yard
  • I see the hawks flying around overhead more and more often
  • I hear leaf blowers whining, dogs barking, and children playing outside (I know this could be short-lived, but surely it’s a sign of outdoor spring activities kicking into gear …)
  • there are lots of motorcycles driving up and down my street (is there an emoticon for jealousy? If so, insert here – our bike hasn’t been prepped yet!)
  • lots of people (including myself) emerged from their houses and were out walking on the various paths and roads in the neighbourhood – and we were all smiling and nodding and saying ‘hello’ to one another with big, silly grins on our faces
  • Snowdropsthere are snowdrops blooming in my front garden
  • there are buds on most of the shrubs and trees
  • it SMELLS like spring (this is a purely personal observation, I know, but it’s a WONDERFUL smell!)

We haven’t had much of a winter here in southern Ontario this year (a couple of centimeters of snow, maybe) but since I’m not a ‘winter sports’ person, it really hasn’t bothered me (and my husband is thrilled that he didn’t have to use the snowblower at all this year).  We’ve had enough rain (which was kind of weird, honestly) to keep the trees and gardens adequately irrigated, so I’m not worried about the state of the greenery (as I would have been if we’d had a dry winter).  And after last year – when it seemed spring would NEVER come – this spring-like weather in March is a real treat.  I hope it lasts.

And since I want to enjoy it just a little bit more, I’m going to wrap up this post early and go sit out on the deck – because very year is precious and every day like this one is a gift – now that I’m on … the other side of 55.

First Spring Day Quote

4 Comments
  1. March 14, 2012 8:26 pm

    It was cool here in western Canada yesterday. We had a sudden snow storm blow in, and for a few minutes we could hardly see as far as the fence. Half an hour later it was sunny and there wasn’t a cloud in sight! I guess spring is not really here yet.

    • March 15, 2012 7:16 pm

      Spring has come so quickly here, we’re not ready for it! They’re talking about high teens and into the 20s (celcius) all week. We even had thunderstorms today (mid-March). It’s been a really crazy winter.

      Margo

  2. March 11, 2012 4:09 pm

    We’ve had a pretty good winter on the east coast, too, and the last few days have been mild enough that the snow is melting. Like you, I hope this is a sign of good things to come! We still have to get through St. Patty’s day here (often get a bad storm around then), but who knows, maybe this year will be different. Fingers and toes crossed!

    • March 11, 2012 5:15 pm

      With any luck (pun intended!) there will be shamrocks blooming on St. Patrick’s Day. Luck of the Irish to you!

      Margo

Comments are closed.

