Skip to content

Here Comes Fall: 2011

October 9, 2011

Sometimes a day is so fine, you simply can’t justify spending it indoors.  The past few days here in southern Ontario have been like that.  This entire Thanksgiving weekend has been blessed with sunshine, temperatures in the mid-to-high seventies (well above ‘normal’), and air full of the delicious scents of fall (farms smells notwithstanding).  I’ve taken this rare opportunity (a sort of ‘last hurrah’ of summer) to get out on the motorcycle several times (the fall colours are spectacular), go for several walks, and even sneak in ANOTHER couple of hours at the beach (the water is still warm enough to wade in to – and clear enough to see thousands of tiny minnows swimming around in the shallows). 

Autumn SceneWhat has been difficult is staying indoors for more than a few minutes at a time.  To that end, I’ve found it impossible to nail down a ‘quick’ topic for my blog post this week – mostly because I just want to sit outside and enjoy the weather (because I know next week we’re going to be back to reality; the outdoor furniture will come in, the leaves will have to be raked, and I’ll be sitting in front of the fireplace instead of in the sun on the deck).  So … I’m giving myself permission to take a bit of a break this weekend, to allow myself to ‘not sweat the small stuff’, and to share a poem (as yet untitled) about fall with you (that I wrote a couple of weeks ago, during a particularly dull and wearisome few days), instead of a longer piece of prose.

I’d also like to wish everyone a Happy Thanksgiving (even if you live in a country where it’s not officially Thanksgiving for another few weeks, or you don’t celebrate this particular holiday at all – because it’s always a good idea to reflect on things we’re thankful for). This year, I’m giving thanks for the continued love and support I’ve gotten from my wonderful husband, great kids, good friends, blog followers, and writing partners.  It’s great to be on … the other side of 55.

 

A melancholy breeze
sighs through the trees
rattling dying leaves
that resist its tug
before falling, spent
to the ground.

Grey skies overhead
shed tears
at summer’s end
saturating the red, yellow, and orange
patchwork quilt
on the forest floor.

Squirrels shift through the detritus
looking for nuts and seeds
while the jays’ plaintive cries
and the dark shadows of crows overhead
warn solemnly of the approach
of autumn’s cool embrace.

Happy Thanksgiving 2011

6 Comments
  1. October 15, 2011 8:38 am

    Margo, so glad I checked into your site! Really enjoy your posts! We have quite a bit in common actually, My husband and I enjoy our touring motorcycle especially this time of year! Although, currently, he’s in the process of changing tires and we missed being able to ride last weekend when it was so gorgeous down here in hills of Southern Ohio, US. I can relate so well to your thoughtful posts!

    • October 15, 2011 1:59 pm

      I’m glad you like my work! It’s definately getting a bit on the cool side for riding, but I’m hoping we have a weekend or two left where we can get out and enjoy the fall colours.

      Margo

  2. October 14, 2011 11:10 pm

    I’m sorry I’m so late. It sounds really lovely up there with cooler temps. I want to hear more about the motorcycle rides. Pictures please.

    • October 15, 2011 8:21 am

      The colours are fantastic and as much as I love summer (and hate to see it go), fall is an interesting time around here. I don’t take too many pics when we’re riding but I suppose I should, and then I should write a post about it! Thanks for the inspiration!

      Margo

  3. cathy permalink
    October 9, 2011 10:25 pm

    A pretty, but rather sad poem I thought, Margo. Still, unlike this weekend, it’s very typical rainy fall weather when we tend to mourn the passing of summer. You’ll have to print more of your poetry!

    • October 10, 2011 10:21 am

      I did write that on one of those dull, ugly days last week when summer seemed a distant memory; I’m glad we got another quick taste before the weather turns for good! I’ll think about including more poetry in my writing.

      Margo

Comments are closed.

