Skip to content

A Letter to Mother Nature

April 17, 2011

Mother NatureDear Mother Nature,

I realize you are a very busy woman but I’d like just a moment of your time to talk to you about the weather we’ve been having in southern Ontario so far this spring.  I am sure you get lots of complaints – and to be perfectly honest, you’ll probably consider this to be another one – but I sincerely hope you’ll listen to what I have to say and understand that it comes from a place of honesty and forthrightness (not bitchiness or longing … well, maybe a bit of longing).

Last year at this time (mid-April) my brand new motorcycle had 500 km on it, the gardens were all cleaned and prepped for planting, and I could sit, comfortably, on the deck with my before-dinner drink pretty much every evening.  It was the most glorious spring in years!  By contrast, this year the bike hasn’t been out of the garage yet, I’ve managed to spend only two hours total in the gardens, and there’s only been one night I could enjoy a drink on the deck before supper.  What’s going on? I realize ‘variety is the spice of life’, but some of us can’t stomach too much spice – it upsets our systems.  Can’t we compromise?

ThunderstormI realize you like to keep us humans on our toes – throw a few unexpected cold days or nights into the spring weather mix, pummel us with the odd windstorm or torrential rain shower, toss in a raging thunderstorm or tornado here or there to make sure we don’t forget your power.  But – seriously – zero degrees in mid-April with snow showers? How cruel can you be?

I’m not just concerned about this vis-a-vis the human population, of course.  The song birds that returned from the south are in shock, the animals(squirrels, chipmunks, racoons, skunks, rabbits) in the neighbourhood are wondering if they should be getting their winter coats back out of storage, and every species engaged in the annual family planning process is wondering how they’re going to keep their babies warm and safe when the bitterly cold temperatures, raging winds, and near-freezing precipitation are undermining their efforts.  Don’t nature’s creatures – YOUR children – deserve better?

SpringtimeAt my age, I don’t have all that many springs left (certainly fewer than I’ve already experienced) and – to be perfectly blunt and probably a little selfish – I expect them to be pleasantly warm, with temperate breezes, lots of sunshine, and just a little rain (preferably at night) to keep the gardens green and the trees hydrated.  I want to enjoy every single one that’s yet to come!

So, please, Mother Nature, could you do me – and everyone / everything else suffering through this depressingly and uncharacteristically cold April – a tiny favour and turn up the temperature just a little (global warming be damned!).  I’d really like to be able to retire my winter wardrobe, get out my warm-weather things, and enjoy the myriad pleasures that I’ve come to expect from the spring season, especially now that I’ve reached … the other side of 55.

Spring Fantasy

6 Comments
  1. July 26, 2011 10:40 am

    bet ya’ll are missing that cold now!!! Can you please send another message to her asking if she could cool it off a tad? You know, 70s all year wouldn’t be so bad!

    • July 26, 2011 12:52 pm

      I did a high school project (a VERY long time ago) where I had to pick the ‘perfect’ place to live and write about it. I picked San Diego because has an average year-round temp of 75 degrees. That would be ideal. We sure could do without the heat and humidity (and in six months, we’ll want it back!)

      Margo

  2. April 26, 2011 4:51 pm

    Oh, Mother Nature? Ditto from Wisconsin! I’d like to put away my sweaters and slide into sandals! It’s the end of April and we all need a full week of lovely days! *Enjoying your posts, Margo!

    • April 26, 2011 5:57 pm

      I only wish Mother Nature would make her email address public – then we could REALLY swamp her with requests for better days (it’s raining AGAIN here in southern Ontario!) Glad you’re enjoying my work.

      Margo

  3. April 25, 2011 9:57 pm

    You have a motorcycle?! COOL!!!

    • April 26, 2011 11:50 am

      Motorcycling is one of those things I wished I’d done earlier!

      Margo

Comments are closed.

