Skip to content

Giving Thanks

October 11, 2010

In the spirit of the holiday, this week I thought I would list some of the things I am thankful for right now …

  • A husband who supports me and completes me in a way I didn’t know was possible.
  • Two children who – when they were young – made being a Mom both rewarding and fun, and who have grown into people I really LIKE (and I’m not just saying that because I’m their mother, either!)
  • The Company of CatsThe company of cats, both present and past.
  • Long, winding, scenic country roads, perfect for riding on two wheels.
  • Anthocyanin, the pigment that (when combined with bright sunlight and cool weather) is produced in some trees, turning leaves a brilliant red in the fall, and carotene, the yellow and orange pigment that emerges when (the green pigment) chlorophyll stops being produced every autumn.  These chemicals are responsible for the stunning scenery we see all around us at this time of year.  (And that, ladies and gentlemen, is your science lesson for the day!)
  • Mustangs, Chargers, Challengers, Camaros … sporty cars with style instead of every-single-one-of-them-looks-the-boring-same makes and models.  (Isn’t it odd that we had to go back to the past to bring ‘style’ to the present?)
  • Friends who stand by you – even when you aren’t sure you know what you’re doing.
  • Six-year old Balderson white cheddar cheese and Fortino’s cheesy-onion sourdough bread.  Add a glass of white Zinfandel and you have a perfect meal!
  • Burlington Beach (well, pretty much beaches anywhere!)
  • Sandcastles – build one, put your worries inside, let the waves wash it all away.

And last, but certainly not least, I am especially thankful for having the good fortune to be able to follow my dreams – which everyone deserves to do by the time they reach … the other side of 55.

Reading and Writing

Reading and Writing … to my heart’s content!

One Comment

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving 2012 « The Other Side of 55

Comments are closed.

