Skip to content

You Like Me, You Really Like Me!

November 27, 2011

VBAEarlier this week I was nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award (VBA) by one of my followers: JSK/Undercover Surfer.  I was really honoured – not only because she likes my blog and chose to acknowledge it in this way, but because the feeling is mutual (which is probably not surprising because she and I clearly have a lot in common). 

Some people apparently think awards like the VBA are little more than ‘chain blogs’ – a sort of ‘you nominate me and I’ll nominate you and let’s include our friends’ deal – but I don’t care (and I don’t necessarily agree, either)!  I think it’s a wonderful way to recognize the work of fellow bloggers who occasionally no doubt ask themselves the same questions as the rest of us: Why am I doing this? Is anyone reading my stuff? Do they like me (I mean, REALLY like me)?  The VBA (and others like it) give us the answers we’re looking for!

When I started my blog (waaaaayyyyy back in September 2010 – see Best Before if you don’t know the details), I had no idea I would become quite so fully committed to the process. My goal was to post something once a week – observations, comments, realizations and opinions about life, love and the pursuit of one’s dreams on the ‘other side of 55’ – and so far, I haven’t missed a week! Freshly Pressed: April 25, 2011I’ll admit that sometimes it’s a challenge to come up with a topic, and some Sundays have been so sunny (or so dull and dreary) that I’ve had to fight the urge to do something else instead (ride the motorcycle, lie in the hammock, crawl into bed with a good book or a DVD and a bag of chips). But I’ve kept at it, been Freshly Pressed once (for my‘Choose Your Own Adventure’ post; WOW – that was intense), and people seem to keep finding me and following me. So – to all of my regulars – THANKS, and to anyone who’s stumbled across this blog for the first time – WELCOME – and I hope you enjoy what I have to say.

Now, according to the VBA rules, I am supposed to ‘nominate’ as many as 15 other bloggers whose posts I follow, read regularly, and/or enjoy.  I’m not sure I can list 15, but here goes (links are included so you can check them out, too):

(And, yes, as I went through these, I noticed something of a pattern – I generally like to read the same kind of thing I write). NOTE:  I haven’t included the various writers’ blogs that I visit, because they aren’t what I would consider particularly ‘versatile’ – they’re more research-oriented or blatantly self promotional, so I’m staying with the ten listed above.

Finally, I am supposed to reveal seven things that you, dear readers, don’t know about me.  At first I thought this would be tough, but actually it was kind of fun (some of these might be expanded upon in future posts – who knows):

  1. Mrs. Cornford and Me (and my sister on the left)I hate my middle name (and, no, I’m not going to tell you what it is).  Whereas my two sisters got their middle names from my father’s mother (Margaret) and my mother herself (Kathleen), and my brothers got theirs from a great uncle (Stewart) and our own father (Lawrence), I got mine from my mother’s mother’s best friend (no offense to the late Mrs. Cornford – seen in the photo on the right with me as a baby on her lap – but her name SUCKS!)
  2. I got caught cheating on a spelling test in Grade 4; what prompted me to cheat (I had the list of words inside my desk and I had to lift the lid to sneak a peek at them. DUH!) is beyond me. I took the test – with the big fat red ‘0’ on it – home, crumpled it up, and stuffed it in the bottom of the garbage can out behind the garage. I never told my parents (and I never, ever cheated again!)
  3. When I was 8, I had a ‘pet’ owl named Hootnanny (see  photo below right). His mother had been killed near our cottage, so we ‘rescued’ him, brought him home and took care of him over the winter; in the spring we released him back into the woods by the cottage.  He was a screech owl.
  4. I am not a ‘worldly’ traveller – the first time I travelled outside the province of Ontario was in 1967 (for Expo in Montreal); the first time I left Canada was in 1974 (a vacation to California); I’ve never been farther south than the Caribbean, west than Hawaii, east than Halifax, or north than the top edge of Lake Superior.
  5. Hootnanny the owl (that's me on the right)I ran a ‘drop in’ centre of sorts in my parents’ basement in the summers of 1968 and 1969.  Why my mother allowed this is beyond me (but I’m glad she did – I probably could have gotten into a whole lot of trouble otherwise).
  6. When my boys were born, I deliberately chose names for them that I LIKED. This seriously pissed off several members of the ‘other’ (ex) side of the family, who seemed to believe that having grandchildren named after them (or their ancestors) somehow immortalized them.
  7. In addition to these blog posts, random short stories, and the occasional piece of poetry, I write romance novels.  What can I say? I’m love the idea of two people travelling together towards ‘happily ever after’ (and since I’ve had the experience myself – in mid-life – I can honestly say ‘I know that of which I write’).

So – there you have it.  My life in a nutshell. And a nutty life it’s been – all the way to … the other side of 55.

Life's Good on The Other Side of 55

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2011 12:25 pm

    Thanks so much for the nomination, Margo! I will add your name to my Awards Page and fulfill the requirements at a later date!

    • December 10, 2011 3:30 pm

      You’re welcome. I love what you write and we ‘old gals’ have to stick together.

      Margo

  2. December 1, 2011 9:19 am

    Glad I remembered to check out your blog this week. I’ve been absent from the blog world for the month of November. Sometimes I get like that. I enjoy your perspective, I suppose, because so much of what you write is “Oh, yeah, I can relate.” ~Leslie

  3. Colleen permalink
    November 28, 2011 8:40 am

    Well done Margo! And a pet owl? I’m soooo jealous!

    • November 28, 2011 9:27 am

      Thanks. I’ll definately have to write a post someday about all the weird and wonderful pets I’ve had over the years.

      Margo

  4. Cathy permalink
    November 28, 2011 12:14 am

    Congratulations on being nominated Margo! Your blogs are always fun.

  5. November 27, 2011 1:55 pm

    Awww…thank you for the nod. I do look forward to your weekly posts. I also, started in September of 2010 and also, committed to myself to post at least once a week, but really didn’t get the hang of things until April. That’s when I remember we ran into each other. Since my daughters loved those books where they could choose their own beginning/middle/ending I loved your take on it and shared the post with them. I have enjoyed meeting someone else on the other side of 55 and usually find I agree with your perspective. Here’s to more blogging adventure and sharing. Congratulations. It’s a good feeling, isn’t it?

    • November 27, 2011 3:40 pm

      You are most welcome. I’m glad we see ‘eye to eye’ on things. I think it’s important for people like us (> 55) to share our perspectives (even if it’s only with like minds). I wouldn’t have it any other way.

      Margo

  6. December 10, 2011 3:30 pm

    Wow, thanks.

    Margo

Trackbacks

  1. The Versatile Blogger Award | Nobody Land

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 762 other followers

